Ivy league dating service ivy league dating service
All the parishes' boundaries met at the Ivy Bridge.
In 1836 the Parish of Saint John was formed (the name of the church at the time, which was named after John the Evangelist).
Apart from swimming, it was the only means of crossing the river until the 1830s although plans were put forward in 1819.
"Ivy" was used to describe the bridge, because there was ivy growing on the bridge.
83 years later the village and civil parish of Ivybridge became a town in 1977.
Its local government district has been the South Hams since 1 April 1974 and its county constituency has been South West Devon since 1997.
Before 1894 Ivybridge was made up of four neighbouring parishes: Harford – 2 miles (3.2 km) north; Ugborough – 2.5 miles (4.0 km) east; Ermington – 2 miles (3.2 km) south and Cornwood – 3 miles (4.8 km) northwest.As the bridge was the centre of the village and important to its very existence, it was named the "parish of Ivybridge" in 1894.From the 16th century onwards mills were built in the town, harnessing the power of the river.Mentioned in documents as early as the 13th century, Ivybridge's early history is marked by its status as an important crossing-point over the River Erme on the Exeter-to-Plymouth route.In the 16th century mills were built using the River Erme's power. Ivybridge became a civil parish in 1894 and a town in 1977.